Perfect Response to Haters and Trolls

Settle down, soldiers! Nobody trolled me! This is a flashback brought on by something that I saw today. 

I once had this reader years ago that had the most dramatic exit (unsubscribe) I’ve ever seen. She didn’t want “my people” as she called them to attack her for what she had to say, so she sent me an email. I still think about it to this day because I think it was supposed to hurt my feelings, but to me, it was just hilarious!

She built up to her exit by quietly scolding me for sending “my people” to insult anyone who didn’t like my story and how much this behavior actually hurt her feelings. Mind you, my readers are and were quick to defend me if someone becomes disrespectful to me or my characters, and I repeatedly told this person that she was free to go and read another story if she didn’t like my forum. The story is completely free (I wasn’t even taking donations at the time) and coming to my site is completely at will. Nonetheless, she continued with her passive-aggressive scolding—I can’t really call them attacks… it was more like your third-grade teacher shaking her finger at you and telling you that she’s disappointed in you.

This continued in my email for about three chapters. What’s so funny is that “my people” were defending me all this time against people being rude and disrespectful to me. When she saw it, she held me responsible for their actions. That’s not a problem, seriously, because I appreciate my readers and friends defending me. What was a problem is that she didn’t see anything wrong with the people that were being rude to me!

Whaat Huh GIF - Whaat Huh Minion GIFs

Skip ahead to the fourth chapter and her exit.

So, I get another email about how she read the chapter and the comments and how she was so hurt by our behavior. I left out that in the second or third chapter review, she indicated that her daughter told her that she shouldn’t be reading the story if people were so rude and she was so hurt by it. I had completely agreed with her daughter that she probably shouldn’t be reading the story if she found our behavior so offensive; that is was a free story and that there are plenty of other free stories out there for her to read. Apparently, she was so heartbroken on this last read that her daughter came in and sympathized with her sorrow and slowly and ceremoniously closed her laptop to spare her anymore pain.

I literally almost died laughing.

Spits Coffee Laughing GIF - Spits Coffee Laughing Lol GIFs

She then said that her daughter then bought her $300 worth of digital books so that she didn’t have to read mine anymore. I replied, “Then your daughter is stupid, because there are plenty of free books out there for you to read and all you had to do was STOP. READING. MINE! But you had to have this ceremonious exit of how hard it was to read my story. You should’ve just left. If you’re really gone, you won’t even see this, but if you’re still hovering around like I think you are, you should’ve just left! And why are you still here?”

I never heard from her again, but I think about her often because that ceremonious closing of the laptop still brings me a chuckle.

I Did Not See It I Do Not Like It GIF - I Did Not See It I Do Not Like It Rip Pc GIFsDear BG, you are suck!

However, I thought about her today because of a YouTube reel that I saw. There’s a girl named Jax who writes original songs and sometimes has cameos on her reel by different actors and artists. You guys should go look her up and so far, my favorite song of hers is Like My Father. It will make you cry…

… But I digress.

I was watching her this morning and someone commented that her lyrics were dumb. She came up with the perfect quietly stabbing rebuttal to haters and trolls. I absolutely loved it and I shared it on my Facebook page. It’s a YouTube reel and I think I got the link right here…

… But in case I didn’t, here are the lyrics.

I picture you in a dark, dark basement,
With Cheeto dust all over your spacebar.
Maybe I’m wrong, maybe you’re the happiest guy around.
I just don’t usually see happy people putting strangers down.
And I wonder if you see me as a human, like if you cut me, do you think I’d bleed?
Would you talk that way to me in person or do you feel stronger behind your screen?
And since you think my lyrics are dumb,
Maybe you could show us some better ones.

Didn’t she wrap that up real nicely and put it in a pretty little bow??? I love her. This is going to be my new response to haters and trolls. Click the link below to go check out Jax’s channel. She’s a lot of fun.

Go to Jax’s YouTube channel here!!! You’ll love it!!

~~love and handcuffs redux 2

 

31 thoughts on “Perfect Response to Haters and Trolls

  1. Dee says:

    Go Jax! Her lyrics really do says it all, and Go Goddess! for passing them on.
    Be loved and Blessed.

  2. Amy says:

    Love the jpgs…ROFL, she would have still been “suffering” if her daughter didn’t close her laptop

    • Guuuurrrlll, I’m not 100% sure she’s gone. You know how people lurk. 😉 I mean if it was so painful, why did you stick around that long, you know what I mean?

      • Amy says:

        It’s the ‘I hate it, but can’t let go’ syndrome. Happened to me with a few fanfic stories. I managed to let them go after some time, but never posted msgs.

        It takes guts to put your thoughts up in a public forum. At least that should be respected

      • Thank you, Amy. I appreciate that.

  3. Ahh, I remember those days. I’ll always defend an author from rude people. They’ll never understand that there’s a difference between constructive criticism and just plain hatefulness and that their hate will be met with a clap back. 😌😏

  4. jjgoldmann says:

    Anyone that doesn’t love your story is an idiot. You are an amazing writer and I just love you.

  5. Well said. If you don’t like what your reading DON’T READ IT!! I love your story, if there’s a part in a story that I’m a bit ‘iffy’ about, I just skip that paragraph and read on no need to make a fuss over it. But in general I think you’re an amazing writer, keep it up and ignore the haters.

  6. Roman Czarnota-Bojarski says:

    In Polish, which is my native language, there is a rhyme:
    The critic and the eunuch are from one of the parishes.
    They both know how, neither can.

  7. Katie says:

    If you want a good chuckle I laughed all day when I saw this BURN from a skit with David Letterman & Tina Fey. You can search for it on YT. Basically the punchline line comes when David says “I’m not as dumb as I look” Tina comes back with “How could you be”. I still laugh, that was awesome. LOL Sorry, I had to share with someone, my family doesn’t get it! 🙄😳🥴😂

  8. Teri Spraggins says:

    I love it. I laughed so hard at the closed laptop that I had to stop…stop…and catch my breath. Love her lyrics.

  9. falalalynx says:

    I guess I’m one of the killer soldiers. evil grin Peace, falala

    • falalalynx says:

      OMG! OMG! I was just wandering around You Tube and I ran across the trailer for Dungeons and Dragon the film, and and and OMG! JASON/Chris Pine is the male lead. lol I will never be able to watch Chris and not see him as Jason. It’s all your fault Goddess. lol I’ve got to go watch it again. lol Peace, falala

      • Okay, where have I been??? Is this new or something I’ve missed? I used to play D&D all the time in high school and college!!

      • falalalynx says:

        I know our conversation about D&D is what made me check out the trailer. grin Chris seems to embrace his graying hair. lol But I see why Jason might not. Jason honey it does look good and doesn’t detract at all from Chris’s hotness, imo. lol I believe this is new news post. I was hoping for a fun topic to chat with you about. It was Thursday after all. lol Bonus! Rene-Jean Page from Bridgerton is his costar. Hot hot hot! XOXOXOXOXOXO Peace, falala

      • GTFOH!! Chris and Rege in the same movie??? Swoon! I shall have to check this out!!

    • That you are, my beloved.

      I originally said “Settle down, killers” and I had to change it to “Settle down, soldiers” because the first line shows up on Facebook and the post was gone in 15 minutes!

      • falalalynx says:

        And this troll was before my time. FF never liked me and for some reason I could never post. I followed you to this your new home where you do allow me to speak. giggle I’m a next generation security personnel. lol Peace, falala

      • Actually, she was over here on this blog, I just don’t remember exactly when she was here. But I brought the title of “Zing Queen” over from Fanfiction.

      • falalalynx says:

        They were? Are all your stories and the readers comments archived here? When was your move to here? The end of Paging? I need to investigate. falala loves getting into trouble. angelic grin I followed you when Ana and Christian did in that cute little scene you wrote about them being your follower. XOXOXOXOXO Peace, falala

      • The readers’ comments aren’t archived here. My zingers to some of the comments are because they were often cowards and came at me as guests. So, since I couldn’t respond directly to their maliciousness, I laid them out in a public forum. Only the nasty comments (that I haven’t deleted) that were posted directly to this site can be found over here.

  10. Junebride says:

    All I can say is unbelievable!! No one is forcing her to read anything, all she had to do was to go away and let the rest of us enjoy your wonderful writing.

  11. Debbie says:

    👏👏YES!!!!💖💖

Leave a comment