The Voice Of God–Friend Status With CG (not a chapter)

Don’t make me have to come down there….

Okay, so maybe the title is a bit dramatic. Of course, I am NOT God, but in terms of the story I do create the scenes, settings, and outcomes. So in a way, in “Mending Dr. Steele,” as a character, I would be considered “god.” Yes, the little “g” is deliberate. So here’s my voice.

First, thank you to all of you who have followed me thus far, waiting patiently for my book to be published. I promise that it’s getting closer. Also, a huge thank you to everyone for their well-wishes and prayers while my mom has been sick. It looks like it’s going to be okay from here on out, but don’t stop praying!

Now, on to the business at hand. I’ve heard all kinds of opinions on Christian’s reaction to the Scooby Gang, their reactions to him, Ana’s reaction to everyone, John’s reappearance, and on and on and on. So I thought I’d better throw one of my little narratives in here to try to explain exactly what’s going on… or at least my version on it.

Yes, I wanted to break Christian away from the Christian that we all know and love–the solitary, private, island-all-his-own Dom that beats little brown-haired girls. The only way to do that was to introduce him to someone and have him make friends. E.L. James’ CG and Ana were perfect for each other–he was Dominant and she was submissive, whether she wanted to admit it or not. She didn’t like the idea behind or the concept of being a submissive, but she was submissive. She was just defiant.

Bear this in mind–Ana went through college and came out with two friends. TWO! Jose clung to her like a rag because he was hoping to get into her pants and she was Kate’s roommate. She was an island just like Christian, so she was perfect for him to come and dominate. There is no way in HELL that even the mousiest of mice would have a party girl like Kate on her hands that liked to dress her up like a Barbie Doll and not at least end up knowing some of the people that Kate knew–making some kind of friends, even if they were just acquaintances and contacts. Ana had none! The two friends that she did have were critical of CG from the beginning, always hounding her to defy him in some way, egging him on, sticking their noses in her business and causing problems (Kate) or asking inappropriate questions and looking for trouble when there was none (Kate and Jose). Of course, Christian had no interest in befriending either of them for obvious reasons.

On the other hand, if Ana had more friends that she had gotten to know–like Kate–CG would have gotten to know them too–like Kate. Somewhere along the way, there would have been an opportunity for him to get to know them–like Kate–and make a decision as to whether or not he wanted to introduce them into his life in some way–like Kate. The Scooby Gang was perfect for that as they already met in some way every weekend and they were people that Ana trusted, so Christian decided to trust them, too. The problem is that with the personalities that I know the Scooby Gang has, this would never work–but Christian had to give it a try anyway. It opened him up to meeting people and making friends, which was the purpose of this exercise in the first place.

Someone commented that Ana shouldn’t have been so hard on her friends for taking her side against Christian. I disagree and here’s why. Ana’s friends made Christian and Ana think that they were Christian’s friends, too. When the shit hits the fan, they either attack or desert him. I wouldn’t want friends like that. If there are not his friends, they need to make that clear instead of lulling him into a false sense of security and then dropping him when things don’t go the way that they think it should. It’s that simple. Either you are his friend or you are not. Stop pretending like you are his friend and then treating him like shit when we fight. Quite frankly, he didn’t have to tell any of them what caused Ana to leave. He could have waited and let them find out on their own. Instead, he chose to be a man about it and own up to his role in the matter only to have his “friends” and his brother treat him like slime while he was hurting, too. So, I have to respectfully but whole-heartedly disagree with Ana being wrong for tearing her friends a new asshole. Number one, she didn’t go to all of them and rip them apart–Gary and Phil still haven’t heard anything. She only confronted the ones that confronted her, and I would have done the same thing. Number two, she had this conversation with them before about how they treat Christian. Though the circumstances were slightly different, the outcome was the same. If I am  angry at my husband and we are fighting, I am going to be highly upset with ur so-called mutual friends if they take sides in the matter.

That happened to me twice and, as it turns out, I was the Christian in this story. I hadn’t done anything wrong, but I made the mistake of thinking that our mutual friends really were mutual. I turned out to be so wrong about it and when I ended up on the outside looking in, I was hurt beyond repair, and I do mean beyond repair. I have cut ties with those people that I thought were my friends and let them remain his friends (the first instance was my ex-husband so that point is moot since I cut ties with ALL of them). I don’t interact with them anymore. I let him remain friends with them and I stay out of it. So I have been on Ana’s side of this fence and on Christian’s side and Ana was completely within her rights to let her friends know that they were foul in how they reacted.

This thread is open for discussion. I will do my best to answer all posts and any questions that you may have about getting into the character’s heads without giving away the storyline.

Love and handcuffs!
Lynn X

39 thoughts on “The Voice Of God–Friend Status With CG (not a chapter)

  1. keisha says:

    Well I agree with u been there and done that. Just cuz u are with someone and may hangout with your partner’s friends doesn’t make them your friends. In fact they are not. The came with your partner and most likely if things don’t work out they will never see or talk to u again so yea Christian was right to cut them off and make his own friends. I am liking him and James so far. Too if Ana had cut her friends off I would have found that wrong but she didn’t. They are still her friends and will continue to be her friends but she is right to let them know to not go off on her man or make him feel like dirty if something happens in their relationship. So I had no problem with anything u wrote sounds true to life to me.

  2. Alana says:

    I think I missed something. When did Ana bitch any one out since she’s been back? I feel like I’ve been waiting and waiting for the confrontation and haven’t read it yet. I would love to though because those asshats deserve so much more than harsh words. If someone treated my husband like that I would be beyond livid. Not to mention that they made everything so much worse than it needed to be.

    • Ana hasn’t really bitched anyone out yet. She has just made it known to those people who ask that she is not pleased with the behavior of her friends. As a result, I have been getting some reviews that state that neither Ana nor Christian should be angry with her friends for taking her side. I feel as though they may not be seeing the whole picture. The real Ana bitch-out hasn’t even happened… yet.

  3. Beachycolor says:

    I so agree with you. I would be devastated if my husband’s friends banded against me and just blindly sided with him. There are always two sides of an argument and since Christian was there they should have listened and waited before coming to any decisions…besides it really wasn’t their business.

  4. debbieg0379 says:

    Completely agree with everything “god” has said- LOL. Another thing that pisses me off about Ana’s friends is that Ana did not go to any of them and bitch or whine about Christian and discuss any problems they were having. Those problems were between Ana and Christian, but her friends had to put their 2 cents in and come up short changed. What goes on between Christian and Ana should STAY between Christian and Ana unless they ask for outside help or advice. Her friends need to learn when to mind their own business.

    • Unfortunately, Christian invited them in by admitting to them that she was gone and why. He thought that he was doing the right thing, but he certainly didn’t expect the outcome–much like the fallout from cancelling the wedding. Yet another of his actions where he has to accept the consequences, but in doing so, he has discovered that he doesn’t have to smile in the faces of those who have deserted him on proven that he truly is just along for the ride.

  5. debbieg0379 says:

    Oh and one more thing, her friends need to know all the facts before acting. It turns out that Ana’s MO when things get too overwhelming for her is to run and that all stems from her past mommie issues…as we found out in your earlier chapter. A rational person may have argued with Christian when he proposed postponing the wedding, but Ana just ran…far far away with no argument and no contact; and her friends just blamed Christian for that entirely and that’s not right.

  6. Celeste says:

    Straight up sister! You don’t have to justify or answer to any of us readers. Whatever direction you decide to go is your choice! In reading your story (the angst parts) I wanted to throw my tablet at the wall, my heart was hurting for these characters that you have made is fall in love with all over again, same characters, but different! However, I trudged on through and waited for the reconciliation and so enjoyed the juice outcomes. You have captured these characters as real people with real relationship problems. Any of us readers can turn this story off at anytime. It is our choice to continue reading this story. Please, please ignore the trolls and continue writing. This is an amazing story that my friends & I can’t wait for updates on the weekends so that we can gossip about it!

  7. Brittnee says:

    I totally agree with you Bronzy and your story is amazing, it’s by far one of my absolute favorites! Keep up the amazing work.

  8. Alicia says:

    You’re right, the “Scooby Gang” are not Christian’s friends and should not have made him think that they were. In my opinion someone who I consider a friend and then turns around and disrespects my man in his own home and could care less that he’s at a breaking point (whether we’re fighting or not) is reason enough for me to question my friendship and their loyalty.

    • It’s very careful ground to tread. On more than one occasion, people have been forced to choose between love and friendship. It shouldn’t be that way, but unfortunately sometimes it is. The Scooby Gang has had Ana’s undivided attention for years, ever since Edward was history. Now, they have to share her heart and mind with Christian and if he doesn’t dance to their tune, they are rigid and unyielding in their judgment of him. If friends cannot accept relationships, they may end up falling by the wayside. We will have to see what happens with the Scooby Gang.

  9. Beck says:

    I completely agree, I would be severely pissed if I had a falling out with my spouse only to find out all of the people who purport to care about him and be his friends (as well as mine) just ditched him like yesterdays trash. Either you accept someone as your friend or you don’t there is no middle ground. I have no room for fair weather friends.

    • Exactly. I’m sure that Ana didn’t expect them to rally behind Christian during this time, but she certainly didn’t expect them to desert him. If anything, she expected everybody to pull together, but the conversation that she has later with the ladies will open some insights as well.

  10. JoAnn says:

    I agree. Ana has every right to be upset with the gang. Again they left Christian hanging. I wouldn’t want those type of friends in my life either. If he wanted to say ” you keep them as your friends and they won’t be mine” I would support that. His brother should be ashamed of himself as well. Stay out of people’s shit until ALL the dust settles. It was only a matter of time before they got back together. They are made for one another.

  11. leoedi0306 says:

    Thank you. I agree with every thing you said. Elliot really screwed up. He should have been there for his brother. Ana is doing the right thing focusing on herself and their relationship. Looking forward to more.

  12. gmbizette says:

    I agree Lynn, my Dad always said you are either with or you are not. Scooby Doo gang are fair weather fans to Christian. This has happen to me and lesson learned . Ana is right to focus on their relationship and Scooby Doo gang needs to butt out. But I still want Christian and Elliot to reconcile it may and will be difficult but bottom line they are family.
    Thanks for your insight
    Gwen

    • Blood is thicker than water… but that’s also why Elliot’s actions hurt Christian so much.

      • gmbizette says:

        Yeah I know Lynn….Family can hurt you, this I know from personal experience and I am thinking about the experience as I type. Yep sometimes you treat your friends better than your family. Elliot screwed up royal he needs to grovel at CG feet. You expect your family to have your back and that is why you feel so betrayed when the rug is pulled out from under you. But I still say blood is thicker than water, certainly the hurt is not something you can turn off like water but you can forgive and not forget. Yes CG can forgive Elliot but he can also let Elliot know he won’t forget.
        Lookin forward to Saturday!!!
        Gwen

  13. Barbara says:

    I agree with you (& Ana)…the Scooby Gang were wrong in how they treated Christian, their so-called “friend”. They had done this before & left him all alone with the fallout…they should have known better. Elliot has NO excuse for leaving Christian alone. I do hope they can mend their relationship before the wedding. Friends don’t have to agree on everything, but they can be there to support you whether they agree with your POV or not. James was spot-on with his description of the gang…they ARE Al’s friends (& Ana’s) & he is the outsider. He looked at it from day one as an “accepted” outsider of the group. Poor Christian was trying to fit in & please Ana…he genuinely did let these people into his life & he got burned. I hope he takes James’ explanation to heart & forgives them (for the sake of Ana & Al) but keeps them at arms length. He will never forget how they treated him.
    Thanks for the Gospel according to Goddess! Wonderful as always.

  14. Lorraine says:

    Never truer words were spoken.

    Your doing a great job, don’t let anyone tell you different, you have relationships, emotions and mindsets down pat.

  15. I agree with that, It has been my experience that my friend is my friend, she will ask about hubby and be cival to him however if he mistreats me she is in my corner and on his case; so I understand where Christian is coming from and I also understand Ana’s point of pulling back and concentrating on just them, That is what I had to do.

  16. Sohie says:

    You are the author, for which in am grateful, and your characters should do whatever you want them to do, or whatever the Muse makes them do.
    I do appreciate the life lesson when one makes the mistake of expecting the friends of one’s significant other to be one’ sown friends. That’s a painful lesson and I’m sorry you and Christian had to earn it. I hope Mom continues to improve. I don’t think it’s possible that the Bronze Goddess could get any better, but I hope your life takes a wide turn for the positive in all things.
    Thank you.

    • Sophie says:

      I must be tired if I’m misspelling my own name, in spite of the fact that spellcheck tried to warn me. That’s why you’re the writer and I’m the reader. But where would a fine writer be without appreciative readers. I have an important mission to fulfill: to read great stories and to encourage the authors. I hope I’ve done that with you.

      • LOL, I thought may have been the case, but I’ve seen stranger things. 😉 I sincerely appreciate the encouragement of my readers and you guys are truly, truly the very best!

    • Thank you very much. You are very kind. 🙂 ❤

  17. didine11 says:

    I thought Marllow would be one of the groomsmen ,he and Christian has gotten pretty close

  18. nevahate says:

    I know I was one of the ppl saying she shouldn’t be mad at her friends. Though I see where you’re coming from, I guess I seen the Scooby gang as being friendly bc he was their friends man. I can’t remember if they ever referred to him as a friend or if they ever hung out with him w/o Ana. I guess that’s why I feel like she shouldn’t go at them. But I do see why a person like Christian wouldn’t really see it like I do. And since you write the story you know the intention of the gang. I’m just speaking from a readers POV. I’m sure I’ll be rolling my eyes when Ana finally does go off on them in only the way Ana can. Lol Whelp thanks for this post explaining your POV. Off to read the new chapter. 🙂

Leave a Reply

