Didn’t She Say She Was Going To Publish?

Didn’t She Say She Was Going To Publish?

open-text-book-question-mark-pen-drawing-icon-white-background-30529978It’s 2016 and the question keeps coming to me…

“When are you going to publish?”

I’ve seen many of my fellow authors publish–both traditionally and self-published–and I keep saying that I’m going to get it done. Yet, life keeps finding ways to throw obstacles, issues, and stumbling blocks in my way by means of family crises, health issues, money, time, change of jobs, etc.

I looked at my original draft and realized that it’s so close to FSOG that E. L. James would have rights to get an injunction against me. So I’ve been editing it ever since. There are two huge problems with that.

First (which would probably be second), I never seem to get a copy of it that is acceptable and ready for publishing. That’s becoming a vicious cycle.

Second (which should probably be first), once it’s published, my original baby is dead. Just like “Masters of the Universe” may have copies floating around on someone’s hard drive and among die-hard E.L. James fans, it’s not on any site and it’s not being updated. Why? Because it’s been published. Once I definitely hit that button to “upload to Kindle,” the story has to come down off of the blog. There’s no more updating it. There’s no more weekly chapters… it’s done. Once Miles is in print, Dr. Steele dies… and I think that scares me most of all.

I had one of my oldest readers unsubscribe today. She wasn’t mean or nasty about it all. She was truthful. She said that she was no longer interested in the story because there was too much drama and it had strayed from the original characters. It did get me thinking, because I had a similar experience.

When you’ve written about the same people for so long (in this case, it will be three years on Valentine’s Day), you realize that there’s only so much you can put people through before you have to start focusing on other aspects around them and other characters around them. Look what I’ve done to these people:

We started with Christian’s usual tragic backstory that didn’t really spill into this story as much except to indicate why he is who he is and why the Pedobitch is in his life anyway.

We added Ana’s tragic backstory, which is continuing to spill into this story in so many ways and taking on a life of its own as it’s constantly hiding in the background waiting to blow up.

We’ve got Ana kidnapped by her psycho ex-boyfriend;
Ana’s been beaten by one of Christian’s disgruntled ex-employees;
Christian nearly starves to death pining away for an angry Anastasia;
Christian almost loses his best friend and his girl in Anguilla;
Ana decides to help someone with dignity therapy only to find out that it’s the same person who recorded her beating and after watching the damn thing, she clocks out for three days (or was it four…);
Christian and Ana both are stalked by a psycho asshole–the son of the man who tormented Christian’s childhood and many of his nights as an adult–claiming to be Christian’s brother;
The same asshole orchestrates a break-in of Ana’s condo and the stealing of her gun;
That same gun was used to shoot Jason, who actually took a bullet for Christian because the psycho blonde Pedophile couldn’t live without him;
Psycho mom Mini Morton is not worth the air that she’s breathing, but keeps harassing Ana for a relationship now that she’s dating a billionaire and when Ana finally gives in, she discovers that she was right all along and it’s a lost cause.

All that and I haven’t even finished with the drama that was Book II and what’s happened to them in Book III… you know–hacker, amnesia, fundraiser fiasco, psycho Val…

At this rate, my main characters will be stressed to death by 35! At some point, you have to step back and start to focus on different storylines and how they relate to the main characters–which means that the main characters may not always be the focus, or that a storyline may drag on until a point is made, or it may end prematurely because the point is made very quickly. You have to constantly come up with fresh material to keep readers happy and engaged, and if you don’t, you lose your readers. Unfortunately, sometimes if you do, you still lose your readers.

This is not a complaining post, because I completely understand this dynamic. I went through the same thing with Grey’s Anatomy. I was watching the series for 12 or 13 seasons, and then I saw all of the original characters start to fade away. When I looked up, most of them were gone off the series. When the main person that I was watching the series for was killed off the series, I didn’t want to watch it anymore. So I completely understand when the story takes a turn that someone may not like and they decide that it’s not for them anymore.

I also understand that after a while, the characters do have to change as well as the storylines in order to keep the story fresh and new. So I may go back and check what’s going on with Grey’s Anatomy.

~~Patrick Dempsey

“I’ve enjoyed [making a movie] it immensely, getting back to something that has a beginning, middle and end,” Patrick Dempsey said. “It’s just a completely different approach. With Grey’s, you’re just grinding it out. In this instance, you take the time to get through things.”

~~Private Scandal Murder

 

Like Shonda Rhimes, however, I also understand that there may be a need for new stories, like How To Get Away With Murder and Scandal and Private Practice. To that end, I’ve decided unequivocally that the first story that will be published this year is the love story about Devin and Jordan. That’s a fresh story straight from the imagination that ends much differently than it begins. For those who may not be familiar with it, you can find a taste of the story in the Lemon Drop post. That’s only one of the love scenes. I’m working on a blurb for it right now, and I’ll try to get it posted to see if it draws interest at all.

I hope I haven’t disappointed anyone with this decision, but if I have, c’est la vie. If my writing chops are worth anything, this story will be worth reading, too. If they’re not, then I’ll find out soon enough. Either way, I’m not ready to kill Dr. Steele just yet…

Love and Handcuffs,
Lynn X

 

 

 

 

33 thoughts on “Didn’t She Say She Was Going To Publish?

  1. ana says:

    I know how badly I wanted to read Miles….but I am so happy and greatful that you’ve decided to continue with Dr. Steele….Thank you so much…and yes a story would change…but that’s part of real life as well……so thank you..it was a hard decision but I am sure It was the best

    Ana

    • grey1125 says:

      I totally agree with you Ana!
      I’m so happy it is going to continue and yeah it will change up a bit but that’s what happens in life and that’s okay 🙂
      Thank you so much! ❤️

  2. Georgie says:

    Your decision was one only you could make and most if not all of readers and your family too would respect your choice. Bless you and your talent that you share with us so kindly.
    Four words Lynn, bring us Lemon Drop! That little teaser was not enough. Hurry and publish I can hardly wait.

  3. Amanda Nance says:

    Thank you, you know I love your writing and will continue to do so, when you publish, thank you so much for continuing this I love this story so much as you know im glad your finishing it I got heavliy envoled with the orignal verson of fsog writen in cpov and I absolutly loved it and the last update on it was oct with a chapter that had already been uploaded and it hasnt been updated since and you know theres a life for the writter and all you just get disappointed that youve invested so much time in reading and enjoying a story and then its just gone, and your imagination just wonders did they ever catch the bad guy is something bad gonna happen in the next chapter. Just thank you lynn so much and when this is over ill look foward to your publishings, and maybe even some much cg and as fanfiction

  4. Amanda Nance says:

    Oh now I can go to bed, but I cant enjoy my anniversary because my husband is at work booolo love ya hugs

  5. Bernadette says:

    As a writer stepping back from what you’ve written can be quite a task. This story of yours is a huge part of you and your life. It co-inhabits, if you will, your everyday real life. Your decisions to publish now or later are equally yours to bare. The dynamic of Dr. Steele is surely stressful not just to the characters but to you. You hold their daily life in your thoughts. I, for one, praise your talent and your effort. Yes these characters have had way more drama than a normal person and it’s come a long way from the original setting of Book 1, but isn’t that why you are continuing, To see them full circle? I will support your decision to not publish at this moment in time surely due to selfishness that I love this story. It pulls me out of my everyday grind once a week to live the crazy a life of a billionaire and his wife. I want to say thank you for that privilege. I hope all is well with you and your family. God Bless.

  6. Gemini says:

    I am sorry that you are feeling this way. I understand how you feel. However, I love your Dr. Steele series. You are the author and know what you want for your characters. This is your baby. I have also read the Devin and Jordan Lemon Drop and LOVED IT! You are an amazing writer. Sometimes even the best writers go through a stalemate phase 🙂 You are doing a phenomenal job. I would never be able to do what you do and keep it up, that in itself means you are a goddess and genius! Don’t put so much pressure on yourself. I look forward to every Saturday and reading what’s going on with my favorite couple. As for Grey’s I totally agree, I have NOT been able to watch since Derek died. I record the series and I have not been able to catch up/watch since Derek died. However, I do not think your series is going in that direction, at al!! Huge hugs and God Bless!

  7. lovesfiftyshades says:

    Hey Girl; commented on the chapter before I read this. Funny you mention Grey’s Anatomy…we have DVR and were recording 3 shows at the same time on Thursday, one had to go; I gave up Grey’s! Not nearly invested in that as I am in Christian GREY!!!
    I love your writing and I’ll read whatever you put out. I simply adore Becoming Dr. Grey and the 2 books prior.
    I have one simple request; please don’t stop writing and please always let us know how to find you!!!
    That’s all I ask…well, that and most importantly do what is best for YOU!
    Love and God Bless You!

  8. kia08mc says:

    I can totally agree with what you said. I stopped watching greys anatomy when they killed off Derek too bc it want the same without him. She had been through too much and you kill off her husband. With that being said I read your story bc you evolve it. You don’t have them doing the same things over and over and you give a lesson in history while doing it. I have learned so much new stuff since reading you book that I felt like I needed to get out more and live life more than I already do. You made me look at something differently too. So keep writing until you feel as if Dr. Steele & Christian have completed there run.

  9. Anniekay says:

    Your story and your decision – which I support! Love reading your writing regardless, so please keep it coming. Thank you!

  10. Wendy says:

    Good to hear cause I’m not ready for you to stop writing this story…your a great and talented writer, so any other story will be awesome. Just not ready to see an end to this one yet.

  11. MichelleCheri' says:

    I would love for this story to wrAp before you publish! However you do what you need to do. I am looking forward to the wrapping up of some of the storylines – Val, babies

  12. jjgoldmann says:

    I love your story and do not want to see it end at all! I for one think that the drama that you have in your story is founded considering who they are and that now they have met their extended family and are soon to welcome more. Drama is part of life but then again the rich and famous have an altogether different state of drama than we wee peasants. Please don’t stop writing this story. If you publish please let me know as well! You are a fabulous writer and I would purchase your work in a heart beat!

  13. Barbara says:

    It’s very good to hear that you are not giving up on Dr. Steele, now Dr. Grey! I love your story so very much & I thank you for giving us 3 years of your labor of love. I would never want it to end, so please take your time!! I too, will read anything you publish.

  14. sillie j says:

    I think you’ve made a right decision for now at least. You have a behemoth of a story and a following which would love to see it to the end (including me), if there is one? I am afraid I’m overstepping but I think the whole 3 years of writing must have been a great learning experience for you and a hopefully mostly great experience all in all too. Also I believe it might be easier to write a story for publishing from scratch than to rehash something else over and over. Sometimes plans change. Other times they change again. I just really hope this story will still go on, I am not ready to part with it yet.

    (Sorry if it sounds wrong, just wanna say I understand the decision and think it’s a good one.)

  15. Alana says:

    I’ve followed you from the beginning, and I have to be honest, I almost unsubscribed during the whole hacker debacle. It just wasn’t as good as what you usually write and I found it unnecessary and confusing. I’m all for drama and suspense, but that story line just failed for me.

    I would LOVE to see one of your really really original stories published. I think for you to make a name for yourself completely seperate from Fifty Shades would be amazing for you.

  16. Lisa says:

    I fell I’m in the dark but what happened to the Miles story’s? Did you publish?

  17. Lisa says:

    Okay😀

  18. bellex says:

    I feel a lil late posting this reply, but i rarely check these ‘real life updates’ as i forget about them. I whole heartedly believe that it is your decision wether or not to publish your texts. I agree some of it would definitely be lost, and it would never be the same with everything you would have to change to lose the association with 50 shades. However, publishing this story could mean a very successful career for you, and not having to worry about money for a while. I truly think this story is at and above the caliber of several books which are best sellers today. In the end, it is your choice. You have a large enough fan base and loyal lil butterfly lovers to have support no matter what you do. If you decide to publish, some will cry and quit, others will cry but accept they will live with bookly updates rather than chapter ones lol, if you decide not to publish, some will find an issue with that choice as well, while the rest of us will cheer and read until you stop writing and then pester you to write some more. All in all, choose what you want to do. You come first, EVERYTHING ELSE comes second.

    remember you have us as a support system for always BG, we love you 🙂

  19. Alicia says:

    I’m very late to add to this thread but I will say that, first and foremost this is your story to be written however the hell you want to write it. Second of all this is a work of fiction . Yes I’m aware you, as well as a lot of us see these characters as real. However, you can put them through as many and whatever trials and tribulations as you want. I mean, we read fiction because of the fact that it doesn’t have to be completely like real life. So yes, many awful and bizarre things have happened to your characters, but honestly so what? It keeps the story interesting. If you wrote simply the everyday goings on of a real life married couple that would get really boring really damn fast. To the other issue of the characters changing, isn’t that something that would be inevitable considering all the crazy things that they’ve been through? Anyways, my point is; a. This is your story b. It’s a work of fiction, allowing you to write crazy situations and scenarios that the main characters have to endure c. said crazy situations keep it intetesting and d. the characters should be changing, that’s what would happen to people if they experienced all that craziness. Okay, that is all, my point of view has been expressed. BG I don’t know if you agree with it or not, but as a fan and faithful reader this is how I see it.
    Alicia

Leave a Reply

