My Second (?) Deleted Comment/Review

I'm tired of this dayWell, I didn’t think it would happen, but it did. I have had a lot of people disagree with me and my story, but I put on my big girl panties and left the comment on the page. I may have responded harshly or defended my characters or actions, but I left the comment on the page. Today, I deleted my second comment, and I have to say that I feel really bad about it.

I’m only addressing it because I want to get it off my chest. It was a long comment and I didn’t get past the 4th sentence. The comment was from Redds77 and she broke Rule #1–don’t insult my characters. You can dislike the story and that’s okay. You can even dislike the characters and that’s okay, too. But I have always asked you guys to please refrain from insulting my characters. Those of you who bothered to read other posts on my blog will remember Disagree but don’t attack. Good and constructive criticism that may have helped me improve the story or the characters gets lost if you attack, and that’s what happened. So here’s what happened (for anyone who is interested)…

She started the comment by saying that she had caught up and there were some things that she wanted to say. She told me that I could erase it if I wanted, so I already knew that it wasn’t going to be pleasant. So I pulled up those big girl panties and said, “Okay, try to look at this objectively. See what she has to say.” Her first comment was that I had the weakest Christian she had ever seen and that he cries too much. I don’t agree that Christian is weak, but surprisingly, I did agree with her that he cries too much. You guys may not know this, but I reread my chapters in my spare time (if there is such a thing) and I go back and tweak them on this blog. That was an observation that I made myself, that that man cries entirely too much. Although I don’t look at my Christian as weak, I can understand why she would say that the crying made him appear weak, so I said, “Okay, check mark for that,” and moved to the next point.

In her next two lines, she pulls out this whole 32-boxcar-freight train of insults (yes, I’m exaggerating, but it was a lot) on Ana’s character! At that point, my brain, my Muse, and Ana all came to a screeching halt and stopped reading. She may have had some very valid points after that long dissertation of debasement, but I never got to see them because once you disrespect my characters, all bets are off.

There were some responses to the comment–both for and against–and when I deleted the comment, somehow the responses got deleted, too, except for maybe one of them. I don’t know how that happened. I guess it’s kind of like a thread, but I don’t know, so–sorry about that. 😦

There was one response (I can’t remember who it was from) that said something like orsomething on the order of “Finally someone who agrees with me. Ana is obnoxious. This author has lost my attention.”… … Um, apparently not, because you’re still here telling people that I’ve lost your attention. Please remember that this is a personal blog and you came here. You don’t have to stay and I do understand if it’s not your cup of tea.

I don’t know if she’s still following or not or if she even cares about how I feel about the matter, but I will say this. If you think your comment can help me tweak the story and can post your comment without disrespecting me or my characters, by all means post it again. However, it you’re going to berate my story, insult my characters, or proceed with any kind of troll-like behavior, please save your breath–or in this case, your fingers. I don’t even read comments like that. That’s why I left Fanfiction.

I don’t want people to think that I erase your comments if you don’t agree with me. That’s not true, but I will erase them if you disrespect my characters.

Love and handcuffs,
Lynn X aka Bronze Goddess

37 thoughts on “My Second (?) Deleted Comment/Review

  1. Oh yeah, today’s post is being edited and will be up laters. No worries. 😉

  2. Kim says:

    I agree if you don’t like it don’t read it. I just don’t get it. I would assume like most of us we are all too busy to spend our time on something’s we don’t enjoy so why read what we don’t like then take the time to write nasty remarks that only proceed to make others feel bad. sad!!!!

  3. Patty says:

    There is No way to ever please everyone. You are giving us a different view of two characters that I just adore. If they were all doing the same thing in every story, that would suck. You are braver then I’d ever be for just posting your stories. I keep mine to myself. This way I am my only critic. Carry on. There are still a lot of us following you.

  4. jjgray61 says:

    I always say that duct tape can fix anything, except stupid. But it sure can muffle the sound. I’m totally enjoying the story, especially this Ana

  5. Trish G says:

    I have enjoyed this journey ever since I found you on Fanfiction. Your story is clever and different which I love. The dynamic between Christian and Ana has grown and evolved since that fateful first meeting. You can’t please everybody but know I have adored the opportunity to take part in what your brain creates for these characters. ♡ Happy Valentines Day ♡

  6. Margaret Jackson says:

    I read a lot of different fanfiction stories and they all cast the characters in a different light. Your characters are amazing I love that your Ana is the way she is she is a strong person who is not afraid to stand up for herself. I love your Christian he is amazing and I get that just like in the books he has a lot to learn about emotions and everything. He is known to make mistakes but those are mistakes that they can learn from and grow and come out stronger in the long run. Keep up the fabulous work and I look forward to reading more from you cause you are a fantastic writer and I love your take on the characters that you have written.Chin up and know that you have followers who absolutely love your work. Love to you and have a wonderful and Happy Valentine’s Day ❤ ❤ ❤ ❤ ❤ ❤ :).

    Margaret ❤ 🙂

  7. Its the same as everything in life hun. You have the nay sayers and the followers. The nays are out-weighed by the followers, so it shows how good your story is. As you and everyone else have said, If you dont like it, dont read it, but dont disrespect it or you. We all love the story Lynn, so please ignore the ones that dont matter and continue to keep The Greys alive xxx

  8. mkloesel5 says:

    Some ppl….I swear……I think you are doing an amazing job & always have. Ppl have to realize that THIS is YOUR story not their’s. I read a lot of fanfic & other ppl’s stories. And you what to know what bugs me the most about some of these author’s of fanfic? It’s that they ASK the readers how would they want the story to go. Seriously!!!!! Your the writer!!!!
    Lynn, you write this story however you like. I will always be here to read your stories & buy them if I have too. 💜 MK

  9. angalarte says:

    I was one of d people who commented about her review, I think I asked if she was reading d same story, as her comments were so off, so I totally agree with Ur removing it x x

  10. JayEm75 says:

    Don’t let the haters get you down. Your story is the most well thought out, detailed, amazing story I have ever come across. You’re truly a fantastic, thoughtful writer, and your characters are perfectly written. Keep doing you.

  11. lovesfiftyshades says:

    I just want to hit something. BG, I’m sorry I didn’t see the comment. I normally don’t read other peoples reviews on stories but occasionally, on this story, I do. Now, I know you do not need to be defended, but if something has happened to make you delete a comment and then comment on it; then all bets are off. It is beyond me why people can’t just leave when they don’t like something, or have lost interest or what ever. Do they keep eating food they don’t like; keep ordering drinks they don’t like; keep hanging out with people they don’t like…I don’t think so. Then why or why do they feel the need to hang around to offer their opinions, to put down something (your story and your characters)? Move the HECK on! People have NO IDEA the time, the energy, the heart and soul you put into this story. I have written a little, nothing to the magnitude of this story, and I am here to tell you; it’s personal, people. You create something, then pour your time, energy, heart and soul in to developing it, writing, it tweaking it, making it interesting and DIFFERENT ON PURPOSE! And then people come along and bash it…hell to the fuck no. Please excuse my language. Do you let people mess with you husband? Your children? If you went to someone’s home for dinner and the roast was a little over done or the cake was a little dry, would you say, “Wow, this tastes like shit today” and spit it back out on your plate? NO! Well, at least most of the socially acceptable functioning adults in my world wouldn’t. Writing a story of this magnitude is like having a child. And while this precious woman has given us the opportunity to discuss the story, please people, don’t go spitting on it or slapping it in the face. If you find the story unappealing, please just move on. I don’t know about the rest of you, but I read every day. Fanfiction, Writer Coffee Shop, and real live published books. My humble opinion is just that, very humble and probably not worth much of anything. But I don’t think you’ll find any story better than this one, published or not, in my opinion. Lynn, I’m sorry you had to take a hit; I’m hoping they really are few and far between. Please just remember the THOUSANDS of fans you have who believe your’s are the best Christian and Ana ever created. Love to you and your story…keep up the amazing work!

    • cabtaken says:

      Aman, I could not have said this any better! You have said everything I could or would.
      Love the characters and the story, love it.
      Keep writing Lynn.

  12. sclark14320 says:

    You tell them girlie 🙂 Your story your way. If they don’t like it then they can stop reading it….. I love this story. Hope you don’t stop writing 🙂

  13. nedbella says:

    Ignore the haters….easy to say I know, but just remember that there are MANY of us out here who love you and your writing. Don’t let the negativity of some readers dry up that creative well. Anyone who nit picks, insults or is plain rude is jealous that they can’t write a good story themselves. All I can say to them is nah nah nah nah nah naaahh. 😉❤️

  14. Christian618 says:

    I say continue to write your story however you feel like writing it. Who ever wants to read it will and those who don’t wont. It’s that simple😄

  15. Kathy Owen says:

    Good for you girl! There is no sense in a person reading the story of they dislike it or the characters. Simply stop reading! Of course we may all have our opinions but what happened to having manners and putting forth co structure criticism rather than total hatred. I just do not know what is wrong with people any more. I guess because they do not have any talent themselves and because no one can see them behave in such a horrific manner, then the feel it is acceptable to be hateful. As for Christian crying too much, perhaps maybe but then one has to realize that his character has been so self loathing and spent a lifetime of feeling that perhaps know he has opened up and feels life and love so deeply that his emotions simply come out. Love does make you vulnerable but not weak. I have said it before and will say it again, I have loved your stories and look forward to seeing you in traditional print!

  16. Nikki says:

    I love your writing and this story! You cannot please everyone! But trust and believe that whenever you post a chapter everything in my day revolves around the quiet time and wine I schedule that day to read it and enjoy it!

  17. Jackie says:

    Well said. I love the characters in your version. I don’t see Christian as weak at all. He’s just coming to terms to with so many emotions that he has never let himself experience to date. Keep up the good work.

  18. seralynsmom says:

    Man today just ain’t my day. First I couldn’t get to sleep last night so I wake up tired as all get out, then, the highlight of my day so far besides coming home to the hubby and tot having made me cookies and cards, I get to the theater for the FSoG movie and the line for concessions is just nuts! Then I get in the theater and the only seats are those closest to the screen and I sit next to three women who would not stop talking about the movie, during the whole damn movie! I get it you want to talk about it, do it after!! Then right at the end during the key scene to set it up for movie two some tears phone goes off, the guy next to me on the other side. Yeah. Then I get out go to DG to get some things they’re computer on one side goes down and the manager is incompetent. Then I get home after the wonderful surprise from my family and get on Facebook and see some bitch called me unstable and asked me if I was 12 because I asked her and another chick to prove to me that FSoG is abusive and has rape ( like seriously?). I told her to go fuck herself and she tells me then that I proved her point. What point? That you’re a bitch? Then I finally check my email and see that one of my favorite authors has had to delete a comment from someone because they disrespected the characters (Christian weak? Seriously?) and that her muse has decided to to sit down and take a breather, this I understand because you come first Lynn and your story can wait if you feel you need to step away for a minute, it just upsets me cause I’ll miss you while you’re gone! Ugh! Let’s hope the rest of the day is better right? Sorry I had to vent. Didn’t really mean to vent it all out on you.

  19. I have never, never thought Christian was weak for crying! Geez Louise. We cry so that people know what hurts us. What makes us happy. (Borrowed words, but I feel they are important.)
    Personally, I am a crier and it comes from a deep part of myself. I oft times cry at the goodness of people. At pain. At loneliness. Hell, at a sunset. Please allow Christian this one little release, mean reviewer.

  20. bugglady23 says:

    Happy V-Day Goddess and may I say: don’t let a bug on your windshield distract you from your journey 😉
    If she doesn’t like the story she may just piss off 👏

  21. Michelle Cheri says:

    You have ever right to stand up for your story and characters. I don’t understand people who are so mean spirited and can’t provide constructive criticism . It just shows a real lack of maturity and hiding being their computer screen !

    I love your story and Characters!

  22. Alana says:

    I’ve never understood why people will continue to read a story they apparently hate. I love your Ana and Christian, that’s why I followed you over here. I hope that anything negative I have ever said is constructive. Why someone would post negative comments just to be negative is beyond me. Keep up the great work. You know where your characters are going, we don’t, it’s not like reading a completed novel where we see the end game. To all the haters: IF YOU HATE HER STORY GO AWAY WE DON’T WANT YOU HERE!

  23. Sophie Dixon says:

    Your best writing can be found in your responses. I admire you so for taking on the haters. I also appreciate that you’re open to constructive criticism. I wouldn’t change a thing. Thank you for writing. Sophie

  24. Mar says:

    Bronze Goddess Hatters are gonna hate, hate, hate ALL the time
    This chapter was awesome like all the others and you’re a wonderful writer. If someone doesn’t like your story why read it than?!?!?
    Can’t wait to see how Ana and Christian are going to deal with all this crap that is happing.. Really at their honeymoon this ass wants a trail. I remember Ana mentioning something that was missing from all the things she had on the bed for her wedding when she came from Montana. I think that someone could of giving info to David as to when was the wedding.
    Thank you for an amazing chapter can’t wait for next weekend

  25. mamabird89 says:

    I absolutely love your story and your characters and look forward to a new chapter each week…. I don’t see anything wrong with it and I’m an editor so I should know…. keep doing what you’re doing and don’t stop!

  26. rmoure says:

    I agree if you don’t like it don’t read it. Christian may be weak but who in the hell cares this is your story not there’s and you are doing a great job. Please keep it up, loving it.

  27. Shannon says:

    Bravo!!! Way to stand up for yourself. Your characters are your own and you firmly stand by that not changing because of what people say. I respect you that when other would change their characters so everyone can just read a predictable fluffy story with lots of lemons. You make and keep it real and I love it. I think that the fact that I want to sometimes strangle your characters is a good thing. It shows good story telling and great character development, in my book. Your characters are real and true to who they are and what you’ve created. Does Christian cry a lot, yeah maybe but he’s human who says he can’t cry for whatever reason. Oh well!!! People can deal.
    Keep giving people hell and stick to your guns. I know I dont have to tell you this but I will anyway. Those few who attack don’t hold a candle to those that love. Trollers should just go hole themselves up and stew in their own negativity instead of trying to bring everyone down.

  28. Lori F says:

    Just wanted to say that I’ve been reading your story for over a year and I still look forward to your post every weekend. Thank you!

  29. Hey Lynn, i really wish you would stop letting people control you in this way, who cares what they say? will you lose sleep if they never read your story again? i doubt it, i wouldn’t, if they make you feel the way you do after reading their comments then they’re controlling you, why do you let them do that? You need to read their comment and if you don’t like it say, “Yeah whatever” and move on, these people are not your nearest and dearest, they are the people that matter most, they are fools with nothing better to do, these people are doing you emotional harm and you are letting them, maybe ask yourself why?

    • That’s honestly a really good question Lorraine, and seriously, here’s my answer…

      I seriously love all of my readers. I am so happy that they see in my story what I want them to see. Even when you guys get frustrated with my characters, you all still really love the story, you stick with it, it brings out strong emotions in you, and you keep me going. However, when someone has something adverse to say, I do try to listen because they may have seen something in the story that I didn’t see. And those opinions are just as important to the development of the story as everyone else’s. So if someone sees something in my story and they feel like it doesn’t fit or it’s not realistic or it doesn’t flow well, their opinion is just as important to me as “Oh, Lynn, what a great story” because they represent a cluster of people who just might pick up the published book. And yes, even though you don’t write to please everyone because that’s impossible, you do want to try to avoid some stumbling blocks before you get to them. So yes I do take it to heart because it is important, and when they come at me in their comment the wrong way, Then whatever constructive information you have gets lost. So just like I told her, if she had something constructive that she wanted to say post it again, but don’t insult my characters . I actually did go into my email and go back to look at her post to see if I was being extra sensitive. And I wasn’t! She lashed out at every character in the story, literally! So yes, I may want to ignore them, but I can’t… Because sometimes they have something important to say and when they say it The wrong way, it does offend me. And that’s why she got deleted.

  30. stephnie22 says:

    I just have to say that people read stories because they get pulled in and fall in love with the story you just have jump on and go for the ride no matter where it takes you. This author did awesome and you are really FAR IN HER STORY so she has every right to delete any hatters !!!! If you don’t agree with what she writes NEWS FLASH SHE IS NOT MAKING YOU READ IT!!!!!!! !!!
    You obviously liked it enough to far.
    To the author pleases don’t let them get you down they have to make others feel bad so they can feel good about themselves !! No one . Is going to like every word but that is all part ad the ride. I personally love your writing!
    Stephnie22

Leave a Reply

