The Butterfly

ImageNot too fast, not too fast
Let it grow, let it last
Nature knows when and why
A Butterfly…

I remember one morning 
When I saw a cocoon in the bark of a tree. 
I remember I marveled that imprisoned inside
Was a Butterfly waiting to be free. 

Not too fast, not too fast
Let it grow, let it last
Nature knows when and why
Continue…

I was very impatient
So I warmed the cocoon with the breath of my sighs.
And the Butterfly trembled and began to emerge 
Like a miracle right before my eyes.

Not too fast, not too fast
Let it grow, let it last
Nature knows when and why
And then…

All at once I discovered
That’s his delicate wings were all crumbled and torn. 
When he still wasn’t ready
I had made him be born. 
I was stronger than nature
And I made him be born…
But the wonder of life has a definite plan.
So he died in my hand
By the will not of God, but of man.

Not too fast, not to fast…

Every man has a moment
And I’m waiting for mine when I’m finally free.
But I mustn’t be hurried, 
Give me light, give me time
Like the Butterfly…
Like the Butterfly…

Not too fast, not too fast
Let it grow, let it last
Nature knows when and why

Think about the story of the Butterfly
Think about the story of the Butterfly
The Butterfly…
Not too fast…

The Butterfly from Zorba the Musical

2 thoughts on “The Butterfly

  1. OTB says:

    You telling your fans something between the lines? 😉

Leave a Reply

