Hey! Did You Forget About Me???

Hello my lovelies,

I wanted to drop a quick little line to thank you all so, so much for following me over to my new digs. I am very happy to have you all here and I hope that you will continue to tell your friends about me and bring them over to my page. I recently discovered that I now have a Google presence, so that made me happy. However, I want to quickly address two things…

First, I want you all to know that I read each and every comment posted on my page. Some of them have to be approved before they are posted, but fret not, I do read them all. I may not respond to them all because unfortunately, I just don’t have the time to do that like I used to since I had to go back to work. I definitely try to respond to people who have commented for the first time and I drop comments randomly here and there. If I don’t respond to your comment, please don’t feel like I have ignored you. I read every single comment on my page and I really appreciate them all! You all make me very happy and I hope to get back to where I am responding to each and every one of you!

Second, I have a friend of a friend who is in publishing that wants to talk to me about my work. I’m not sure that they will take my baby where I want it to go or, honestly, if they will take my baby at all. I had planned on self-publishing (editing is a real BITCH!–especially with a full-time job) because I control where I want it to go that way, but of course, I won’t have the exposure that I would have with a publisher. Then we have to consider creative differences and royalties and blah, blah, blah. I know what they are trying to say about self-publishing vs going with a publisher, but all I can hear is the arguments about email vs snail mail… look how that’s turning out. Should I go with a publisher (if it works out that way) or should I stick to my original plan? What you you guys think?

Let me know!

Love and handcuffs!
Lynn x (aka BG Holmes, Bronze Goddess)

30 thoughts on “Hey! Did You Forget About Me???

  1. bdawgholyfield@aim.com says:

    Hey BG!

    I think you should submit a manuscript to the publisher, but don’t sign anything until they’ve come back with their edited version of the story. If you don’t like what they’ve done or they take the story in a completely different direction? Fuck ’em. Ditch the publisher and keep on doing what you feel’s right for Butterfly and Christian.

    Just my two cents.

    Love your writing, love your strength, love your ability to survive! Happy International Women’s Day!

    Norma

  2. Beachycolor says:

    The only thing I am able to offer is my opinion. I have loved your Dr. Steele from the beginning. She deserves the best. Unfortunately that means make it real and go with a publisher. I tend to not even read the little self published books because I am prejudiced against the lack of a publishers interest. The little books appear to be throwaways. Not worth my time.

  3. Kit says:

    There are so many pros and cons on this decision. You have a pretty big fan base so self-publishing won’t be too hard. And like you mention above, you get to control how you want your story to be from start to finish. However, a publisher can help give you the publicity to make it all the way to the top. They can also give you some noteworthy advice in case you want to expand on future work. Than again, I’ve never worked in the publishing or writing business so I’m not sure if what I’m saying is worth reading. In the end the decision is yours and I’ll support you in whichever you make. Good luck choosing.

  4. lovesfiftyshades says:

    Please don’t sign on the dotted line until you see what a publisher will do on a test run…this is your baby and while I think publishing has worked out for a lot of fan fiction writers who cross over…I’ve heard of at least one who it didn’t work out for; because the story can’t be published as A&C…the changes that had to be made were too painful. It’s a lot to consider but you are a smart woman; go with you gut but don’t let anyone take away your creativity; you have a special gift! That is just my 2 cents worth!

  5. Nani Leonardo says:

    You need “clean” eyes to edit your work, Self-editing is never enough because in your head you have a vision, but that doesn’t necessarily mean it will look good on paper. Editors look for flow, accuracy, structure, punctuation, spelling, etc. A good editor will keep the voice of the author while tightening up the weak parts of a story. As a journalist, editors have to go over my work before it’s published–that’s a given. Fresh eyes can improve your work in the long run. There’s no such thing as a perfect first-time manuscript. Sometimes you have to knock on several doors before someone lets you in.

    The main thing you should do is research the publishing houses where you want to submit your work. Find out about who they’ve published and which genre has been their most successful. You want to put your BEST work out there for audiences.

    • That’s good advice, Nani. On another note, though, I can have a professional editor look at my work without handing it over to a publisher. I did look into that and, since my rewrite is already copyrighted, I can have an editor look at it–which I plan on doing–and not have a publisher take it over. I know E. L. James started out self-publishing, then a publisher took her over and it worked out for her… but everybody is not E. L. James. This is a well-known publisher that wants to look at my work, but the things that they have published before is soft compared to my work.

  6. Anna says:

    We never forget about you 😉
    I think you should stick to your plan. It might take you a little to publish it but it will be your work.

  7. madkatlady says:

    Do what you feel is the right thing for you! Yes, there are many advantages to going with a publisher, against trying to self publish, but at the end of the day it has to be your decision and one that you will be happy with. You are an amazing writer and I really don’t believe you would have many problems in self publishing, but I can fully understand the attraction of a publisher. It is at least worth looking into before you make any firm decision. I will support you either way.

  8. Donna Murray-Hill says:

    do what you think is right love, look into it more, do the research, if you stay on here i will follow and if it comes out as i book i will still follow as your a brilliant and amazing writer xxxxxxxxxxx

  9. AnnahD says:

    It depends. I would say you need to look at the merits of reach. Will the publishing company interested in you be able to reach your book out further than you can? You have a number of us on here who follow and would purchase. Would that be enough for you to consider yourself a success? Would the company be able to give you anything meaningful?

  10. Patrice says:

    First of all you are an an amazing writer and I believe you will be successful no matter what path you choose to follow. However, there is nothing wrong with going with a publisher that can offer you all of the professional services that would make your life easier. You can still hold onto your dream and stay true to yourself. Go with your gut. We will all buy and promote your work either way. Good luck!,

    Patrice

  11. ark8dy says:

    To boil things down to the bottom line – how much time do you have and what do you want to do with it?  My vote? Write! Let the publisher (fingers crossed that they’ll be salivating over your work) worry about edits and etc. You have a unique talent for storytelling, and your love for writing shows through clearly. Please keep on ‘ doing what you love ‘.   Thanks & best of luck with whatever you choose!! Lyn

  12. Christian618 says:

    I think you should publish it yourself that way you have total control over your story!

  13. angalarte says:

    Cor I couldn’t say either way, there r pro’s & cons to both options.

    I just hope whichever way u go, that the back bone of ur story isn’t changed. Christian & butterfly it wouldn’t be the same if it was Fred & ginger for example lol
    All I can say hun is ur absolutely amazing story is destined to be a published book.

    And we will be with u all the way hun x x

  14. Teresa says:

    Whatever you decide I will buy the finished book! From you or a publisher, I think this is true from all of your readers. While a publisher will give you more exposure and free you so you can write more, you will lose some control of your work and it will probably take longer to get out there, sooo not helping here! Sorry! Just go with your heart, you will NOT fail no matter what!

  15. Danielle says:

    I know nothing of the publishing world but I do know that you are amazing & could become a best selling author…your writing is fantastic!!! A publisher could make great things happen for you but I totally understand your reservations. So in the end, either way, we as your fans will have to spread the word & make sure that your work gets the publicity that it deserves & you, my friend get what you deserve…which is a best selling book! I am behind you either way girl…make your dreams come true! 🙂

Leave a Reply

