You’re Not Going To Like This…

I am PISSED!

When I say pissed, I mean abso-fucking-lutely livid!

So here’s the deal. Mending Dr. Steele is being indefinitely put on hold. When I say indefinitely, I’m saying hopefully no more than two weeks, but it could be longer. And here’s why.

Earlier this year, my computer started going batshit craycray, so my best friend Michael (my Allen) sent me a new PC that I could use in the interim. It is a fabulous piece of machinery and it moves at the speed of light! The problem is that it’s a Linux and runs on an Ubuntu operating system. In its functionality, it’s simple enough to grasp… until something goes wrong with it…

So last night, Ubuntu asked me to upgrade to 14.04… simple, right? Couldn’t be much harder than upgrading Windows, right?

WRONG!!!

I have been locked out of my system because it can’t open my graphics card as Ubuntu seems to have removed, altered, or lost my configuration for various operations required to boot the system. In laymen’s terms…

THE DOG ATE MY HOMEWORK!

We are talking at least seven advanced chapters, SEVERAL key bits of material (ie I had already written part of the hen party, the birth of Mandy and Ray’s child, the results of the paternity test, the outcome of the She-Bitch Sr situation… you get the idea, several lemons and key bits to use at a later date… you get the idea. Although some of this information has been backed up in other places, a lot of the key shit is being held hostage by fucking Ubuntu!

While I would like to say that I will spend every waking moment trying to retrieve or rewrite my information, I will not. You all know that I recently got a promotion, which takes up a little bit more of what would be considered free time. On top of that, my family have become a bit needy and incompetent (some more than others), and that also dips into my free time. Finally, a diva is getting her hair braided this weekend. That ordeal takes several hours over two days with doesn’t leave a lot of time for computer work.

In addition to that (I guess I shouldn’t have said “finally,” huh?) I have worked some overtime and I am about to use my pennies to buy a new computer. I have had it with Ubuntu. At least when my other computers crashed, I had some idea of what was going on. Linux crashes and I’m sitting here like “duh, huh?”

Hopefully, this delay will not be long. I am looking at my backups that I did do to see if I at least have the next chapter saved somewhere, but folks, it’s uphill from here.

I’ll keep you posted…
BG Holmes aka Lynn aka Bronze Goddess

35 thoughts on “You’re Not Going To Like This…

  1. Julie says:

    Sorry to hear about your troubles. Hopefully the issue will easier to correct than expected.
    Take care

  2. Norma says:

    Oh no! I hope that your computer troubles get fixed and in a quick sort of way!!

  3. lovesfiftyshades says:

    Love my mac…I’m an apple whore, I admit it. Expensive but well worth it…we are a mac family…computers and phones and have never had a minutes trouble. Love you BG… praying for an easy fix. Take a deep breath…we love your writing and will be patiently waiting for your return. Take care of you first! xoxo

  4. bugglady23 says:

    😢 no words darling, no words, just me here alone, crying without a story 😢 Hope all turns out well.

  5. Carol says:

    Good luck Lynn, there’s nothing worse than PC problems, hence why I saved up and took the plunge with an all singing and dancing iMac. They are so worth the extra money, they are so easy to use and in 3 years have never gone wrong. I will (try to) wait patiently for updates to resume.
    Love your writing so hang in there sister! Xxx

  6. jjgray61 says:

    That totally sucks….hope everything works out for you.

  7. seralynsmom says:

    Well there goes my bday chapter!! Yeah my bday is tmrw. Oh well its not your fault its Ubuntu’s fault!!! Lol. You need a Barney!! 🙂 hope you get it fixed and didnt permanently lose anything!! Thanks for the heads up Lynn and good luck with everything!! I will patiently wait for an update!!

  8. Christian618 says:

    Oh Bronze Goddess this isn’t so bad! I thought it was bc someone reported you and now we have to stop writing the story. This is just mechanical cliche that will be resolved soon no problem.

  9. Jackie says:

    Wow Lynn I feel your pain and frustration. Hope someone can help you out. On a lot of systems there is a possibility of reloading the computer to the place it was before an update. Sending positive thoughts and hugs your way.

  10. Sara Bowen says:

    So sorry about your computer problems. I have read a few authors that have had trouble with their computers but they always seem to come out on top which I’m sure you will too. I will be patiently waiting for your updates. Thanks for letting us know. Wish I could do more.

  11. Sorry your having computer issues. I really don’t know much about them but when I was reading this my husband was reading over my shoulder and he said that during start up you can use the mouse and click on another version of Ubuntu ( the one before the upgrade ). He said it’s been years since he has worked with that system but that use to work in the past. I thought I would pass it on. Good luck!!!!

    • Actually, I did something like that. I had a recovery disk and I installed the earlier version side by side with the upgrade. Then I was able to “DOS” my way through the old version and find my files the old fashioned way in the “terminal.”

  12. Kim says:

    I am going to cry like a baby….but please oh please do not take it the wrong way. I feel your pain. I’m only crying because I enjoy your story oh so much and look forward to it every Saturday. I cry when there is a blip on my computer screen that’s how computer illiterate I am I usually spend hours playing with it and either retreive it or making matters way worse. As far as family is concerned I certainly get that. Sometimes I have to hide just to get uninterrupted time to read the whole chapter. I wish I could help you with some computer expertise in some way. Sorry! Maybe just maybe someone can help. The internet is a wonderful thing…sometimes.

  13. crazy4bam says:

    I am so sorry to hear about your computer troubles. I truly understand things happen and real life doesn’t stop for one minute to let you breathe. I will wait patiently for you and the story.

  14. Ladyrider1946 says:

    Gosh, I am going to miss you until you return….your story is one of the ones I anxiously look forward to reading……there are just a few in that category….I can understand computer problems, had to take mine to the Geek Squad to have a virus removed…..
    Until “laters” God Bless….

    And thank you for sharing your talent…..:))

    • This puppy is just on it’s last leg. I’ve been saving everything to my Google drive and my external drive. Linux is no longer supporting Ubuntu 12.04 which is why they are upgrading to 14.04. However, if my system is not accepting 14.04, where does that leave me? Time to buy a new computer.

  15. lucinda says:

    i was sooooo excited to see the email after my workout….then sooooo sad to read what it said. 😦 hope it all works out…but live your life! also i heard the new windows version is giving lots of ppl problems. will patiently await the next chapter.

  16. naeo1999 says:

    Oh no! Your not the only one. My computer crashed this week too I’m so sorry! Computers are stupid! I’m sorry. I will be hoping and wishing for you!

  17. mkloesel5 says:

    I understand how that is. Hope everything works out. Will be think about you.

  18. Er, carbon paper?? Just kidding. In the future, could you print out your chapters and research notes as you write them? These documents can be scanned (at Office Max, etc.) and returned to document format in case…. Or, make them into pdfs as you complete each chapter and email them to a trusted friend as backup. I always found it helpful to printout letters/docs to read in the cold light of day. Reading them outloud was helpful, too, athough you don’t make mistakes in your writings.
    And, of course, we will wait forever for your updates.

  19. Beachycolor says:

    So sorry. I really feel your pain…even angry you are a wonderful writer. It’s a very frustrating situation and we will wait patiently for you to return to us.

  20. Alana Sinise says:

    I am so upset for you. All of that work, I hope you get it all back. I know you put so much of yourself into your writing. This isn’t just some hobby for you. By heartbreaks for you. Good luck and keep us posted. We all love you.

  21. jalyn913 says:

    That is awful! I am so sorry. Technology… can’t live with it, can’t live without. The only bright side to this is that i can catch up, because i’m about 8 chapters behind.

  22. Lisa says:

    Trust me I TOTALLY understand. My old computer cica 2003 Dell desktoo running XP started doing all sorts of crazy things last summer. I finally broke down and bought a new HP Envy laptop on Halloween. It crashed 3 weeks later and I had started moving items from my ancient piece of technology to my unbelievably fast state of the art one. In the process I stupidly DID NOT backup on my usual basis. I lost about 10 days worth of work. AND my brand new computer was sent to tech support for almost 2 weeks. I now back up every night on a flash drive,. I back up current items every 3 days on an external portable terabyte hard drive. I backup the entire system every Sunday night on another external hard drive.
    So as I said I understand. I found during my forced downtime, I selected some new wines to try and proceeded to have my own happy hour every night. I survived.
    Enjoy the forced down time.
    We will.miss your wonderful quick updates and I wish you a quick recovery of ALL your data.
    We are all here waiting patiently for you.

  23. Georgette Pickle says:

    The computer is probably fine. Stupid bitch Kate probably hacked you to stall the test so she can try to work on Elliot. I for one can not wait to see all these psycho women get their dues.

  24. gmbizette says:

    Bless your heart This stinks a big one!!!! Crossing fingers!!! Gwen

  25. Teresa says:

    Nooooooo! Sooooo going to miss you! But I am being terribly selfish thinking only about myself when it is your work 😦 hope you find it soon!

Leave a Reply

