Paging Dr. Steele: Chapter 2: Uninvited Guest

I do not own Fifty Shades Trilogy or the characters. They belong to E. L. James. I am only exercising my right to exploit, abuse, and mangle the characters to MY discretion in MY story in MY interpretation as a fan. I hope you—as a fellow fan—enjoy it, too.

Chapter 02—Uninvited Guest

“Aren’t you going to invite me in? I come bearing libations.” He’s here. Fuck, he’s here. I’m trying to control my breathing and slow my pulse as I gaze upon the beautiful man who is Edward David. He’s wearing a light blue shirt with dark blue jeans that are hugging not-too-tight in all the right places. His brown hair is combed back so as not to obstruct his beautiful big brown eyes and gorgeous chiseled features. I am struck dumb for a moment as I am temporarily teleported back to the time when those arms once held me and those lips did things that made me call out his name… Get a fucking grip, Steele! Are we forgetting who we’re talking about here? You know, that guy that cheated on you and broke your heart when you were already dealing with bullshit? Yeah, him. Slam the door in his face. Show him what you think of him!

“Hey, Steele, who’s at the door? Tell ‘em to come in and join the party!” Phillip yells from the dining room. I am jolted from my trance and come back to myself.

“I have company, Edward…” I try to protest.

“I don’t mind if you don’t,” he answers in that silky smooth voice. Then it dawns on me…

“You brought wine.”

“Cabernet Sauvignon, if I remember correctly.” He gently swings the bottle back and forth.

“My guests always bring wine to my dinner parties… but of course, you knew that.”

Knowing that his secret is out, he confesses.

“I saw you at the Farmer’s Market this afternoon. Once I saw your selection… I know your habits well, Rosie.” Fuck! And here I thought I had gotten away.

“So you thought you’d crash my dinner party because I wouldn’t return your calls?” I say with just enough salt in my voice to make him feel uncomfortable. He shifts on his feet a bit.

“I figure there’s safety in numbers and maybe you would feel that way, too. ” He drops his head a bit in a show of contrition.

“Ana?” Garrett has come up behind me concerned about my extended absence from my own party. Upon seeing who’s at the door, he asks, “Is everything okay?”

I sigh heavily. “Everything’s fine, Gary.” I step back and open the door. “Come in, Edward.”

He looks like he just won the lottery. I wouldn’t be so sure, Mr. David. You haven’t seen the other guests, yet.

“We have a ‘do-drop,'” Gary announces as he returns to the dining room. I’m walking behind him with my head down, clearly flustered.

“Well, who is it…” Phil asks just as Edward is making his way into the room… and silence falls.

“Good evening, Ladies. Gentleman.” Edward greets the party as if he were an invited guest.

“Edward.” Al is the only one who acknowledges his presence.

“You know where the wine goes,” I gesture towards the kitchen. Of course he does. Val starts in on me as soon as he is out of sight. “Did you invite him?” She asks incredulously.

“What the fuck do you think?” I shoot back.

“Then why the hell isn’t he on his ass on the sidewalk?” She folds her arm. I narrow my eyes at her.

“Just let it go, Val!” I say through clenched teeth, just before Edward rejoins the party.

“I see I’ve missed the appetizers,” he says.

“But you’re just in time for the main course,” Allen says, and we all know his words have a double meaning. Maxie and Phil go down in a snicker at the same time. Val is swirling her wine around in her glass, glaring at Edward and waiting for her chance to strike. I have got to diffuse this situation fast! I will not let this man ruin my dinner party. “So James, if I may ask, what do you do?” I start to serve the chicken.

It appears that we have gotten the party back on a social note with not too much awkwardness. Even Edward has managed to insert himself into conversations at appropriate times without too much difficulty. I draw my focus everywhere else but on him as much as I can, but I get the occasional kick under the table from Val when I drift off staring at his mouth every now and again.

This man did things to me… hot things that made my body yearn for him when we were together, and for quite some time after we were apart. He had a talented tongue and his hands were instruments of pure pleasure. He played my body like a Stradivarius, like no one ever did before and no one has since… not that there has been anyone since. I was often left dizzy, throbbing, or damn-near unconscious when he was done with me… but never wanting.

“Earth to Jewel!” Allen quietly nudges me out of my daydream as I sit pushing my vegetables around on my plate. “You alright, Girl?”

“Yeah, I’m fine. I just need another glass of wine.” I go to the kitchen and return with yet another chilled bottle of red, offering it to my guests first of course before returning to my seat and refilling my own glass. The conversation has just about gotten back to safe territory when Edward decides to start talking about how well his web design business is doing. Various people were asking him various questions when Val demonstrates that she may have had one glass of wine too many.

“So, things are going well for you, are they, Edward?” she asks sarcastically.

“They’re going well enough, Valerie,” he replies with just enough trepidation to know that she is setting him up to lower the boom.

“And how is Charlotte? Or was it Susan… oh, wait, no, that was the goat. Was it Michelle? I have a hard time keeping up.” She waves her hand nonchalantly like she’s going to reach into the air and pull out yet another girl. He glares at her.

“None of those, Valerie. I am currently unattached.” His response is chilly. It amazes me that he didn’t address the subtle “goat-fucker” reference.

Unattached,” Valerie feigns surprise. “How convenient!” Okay, enough of this shit.

“Okay, time for ice cream.” I get up from the table and lead the charge to the breakfast bar. “C’mon, Kiddies, follow me. You know what to do with your plates.”

As my guests clear their plates and load the dishwasher (hey, that’s the rule—I’ll cook, you clean), I set up the breakfast bar for do-it-yourself sundaes. Maxie and Phil seem to be having a little too much fun with strawberry topping while Val looks to be setting up a late-night booty call on her cell. Gary clears his throat as if to make an announcement. “Um… I’ve met someone.” Silence falls again. My ice-cream spoon stops half-way to my mouth, Val stops mid-text and Maxie is nearly choking on strawberry syrup. Even Edward looks a little dumbstruck.

“Gary, that’s wonderful!” I exclaim, setting my ice-cream on the counter. “Why didn’t you bring her to the party so that we could meet her?”

He shrugs. “I hadn’t told you guys about her yet and I didn’t want to just spring her on you like ‘surprise, here’s my girl!'”

“Well, now you have to tell us all about her. We have to meet her soon!” Maxie squeals.

Gary begins to tell us about his young lady. They met at a music appreciation seminar a few months back and Gary asked her out for coffee. Coffee became dinner, dinner became movies, and the rest is history. He lights up when he talks about her, and I am so glad to see him happy. I was beginning to believe that he was going to be eternally celibate… kind of like I am now. So it’s a very big deal that he has found someone. Yeah, Heaven forbid he end up like you, right? Bitch, I don’t have time for you tonight. Just leave me alone and let me finish my damn ice-cream!

The party is finally winding down and my guests are starting to say theirgoodnights.” Val is the first to leave. Apparently, her midnight booty call wasn’t going to wait all night, so she had to be going. Garrett, Maxie and Phil all leave together as they are very ready to call it a night. It hasn’t slipped past me that Edward has excused himself to the restroom and is waiting for everyone to leave. It hasn’t slipped past Allen either. He and James are sitting at the breakfast bar, trying to stick around until Mr. David comes back out of the bathroom.

“Girl, you know what’s going on, right?” Al says, watching the hallway. “He’s trying to get you alone.”

“If I’m not being too forward, it’s safe to assume he’s your ex?” James asks cautiously.

Oh, you figured that out, did you? If this cow doesn’t shut the fuck up….

“Yes, he’s my ex,” I sigh. “He’s been trying to talk to me for the last few months and… I’ve just been avoiding it.” I rub my eyes.

“Well, listen, we won’t leave if you don’t want us to,” James adds. “I may not know you that well, but I’m not one to leave a woman at the hands of a guy she doesn’t really want to deal with.” Wow. Sexy and chivalrous… and gay. Shit!

“No, I’ll be fine.” I drop my head. “I never worried about him hurting me… physically, anyway.” That familiar pang shoots through my chest. “You guys can go. I’ll be fine.” Al looks at me through narrowed eyes.

“You be careful, Jewel. And you call me in the morning. Bright and early!” he says, standing up and walking to the door with James.

“You know damn well that you are no more likely to be up ‘bright and early‘ on a Sunday morning than I am!” I laugh.

“I will if you call me.” He winks at me and kisses me on the cheek as he’s leaving.

“It was wonderful meeting you, Ana. And thank you for having me.” James gives me a hug.

“You too, James, and thank you so much for coming. Drive safely.” I close the door behind them and let out a heavy sigh.

“You can come out now. They’re gone!” I yell to Edward. A few moments later, he coyly appears from the hallway.

“Was I that obvious?”

“Transparent!” I put the last of the dishes in the dishwasher. He sits on one of the stools at the breakfast bar.

“I was hoping we would have the chance to talk.” There goes that silky voice again.

“About what, Edward?”

“About the elephant in the room.” He says, matter-of-factly. “We’ve never talked about it. I cheated, you found out, you left… and that was it.”

“There really wasn’t anything to say, Ed!” I throw the dish towel in the sink and turn to face him. “What could you have possibly said to me? ‘I’m sorry. I tripped and fell and my dick landed in this girl?’ What was there to say? Seriously? You couldn’t go back and undo what you had done! You couldn’t ‘un-fuck’ the girl!” I put my hands over my face to compose myself. All of the anger and the feelings are rushing back to me. “I trusted you. I loved you. And you betrayed me…” When I open my eyes, he’s no longer there. He’s behind me, gently stroking my arms. Oh, God. I feel the goose bumps, and so does he.

“I was so wrong, Rosie,” he’s right at my ear. I can feel his breath and I am doing everything I can not to tilt my head to give him better access. I wrap my arms around myself. Be strong, Ana. Be strong. “I can’t tell you how sorry I am. I was stupid and selfish and inconsiderate. I have never forgotten you… I can’t get you out of my mind.” Oh dear Lord, help me. I move away from the sink to put space between us. I have to breathe. I have to think clearly. I walk into the living room and take a few deep breaths with one hand on my forehead and the other on my hip. Maintain yourself, Steele. It’s time for him to leave.

“Edward,” I say as I turn around straight into a wall of man. Oh, hell. Don’t look up at him. Don’t look up at him. I keep my eyes on his chest. His big, strong, solid, muscular, sexy… oh shit.

“Yes?” It’s almost a whisper. It’s not until my back meets the wall that I realize he has been walking forward and I’ve been walking backward.

“You have to leave,” I breathe. My breath is heavy now. He gently slides one hand on my hip just below my waist.

“Are you sure?” he whispers in my ear. Oh, Sweet Jesus. His lips brush against my shoulders, gently kissing until he is back to my neck just below my ear.

“Yes,” I whimper. His teeth tug at my earlobe, then his tongue.

“Yes, what, Baby?” His voice is soft and he’s kissing my temple, then along my cheek.

“Ah,” I let out a breathy sigh as I am quickly losing this battle. Three and a half years. Three and a half damn years! The next thing I know he is kissing my lips, the gentlest kiss I ever felt in my life—soft and sucking the soul out of me ever so sweetly. With just a little pressure, he parts my lips and his tongue gently caresses mine. Oh Father of all things holy, help me! I have to get away. But this kiss! It’s like no time has passed at all. He has reached in and flipped that switch that I thought I had turned off a long time ago and my body is on fire! He adds only the slightest bit of pressure and urgency to his kiss to reel me in, and I moan into his mouth. My legs are getting weak and I am losing this fight. Wake the fuck up, Steele! This is the man that cheated on you and broke your heart! What’s changed? Are you going to let him do it to you again? Wake up, Steele! WAKE UP!

Fuck! The Bitch is right. I push him off of me and wiggle away from his kiss. “Edward, no!” My voice is shaking. I’m trying to find my footing as I walk away from him again. As if I am his last breath, I feel him snatch me back into his arms from behind, fiercely! He is holding me hard against him, my back to his front. Even in stilettos, my feet don’t touch the ground. His face is buried in my neck and he’s breathing deeply into my hair. “You smell so good.” My arms are pinned to my body and he has me in a bear hug. Oh… it’s been so long… so long since someone held me. “I miss you so much, Rosie.” He’s kissing my hair, my neck, my bare shoulders. “I’m so sorry. I’m so, so sorry…”

I moan, whimper, and sigh as he continues to ravage me with his mouth. “Oh, God, Rosie, I love you. Please, please forgive me.” Oh Edward, oh my God. You feel so good… Wait a minute! Whose side are you on?

“Please…” I whimper. I’m not getting away this time. He has me in a death grip. “Edward, please…” He can’t hear me. Oh, he’s so strong, and he feels so good. But I have to get away. I can’t let him hurt me again. I just can’t.

“Edward, please, no…please.” He’s panting, tasting my skin, mumbling that he loves me and he can’t let me go… and the dam bursts. Tears flow from my eyes and I start to shake with sobs. Edward holds me still against his body, breathing like he is trying to catch his breath. “Edward, please. Please put me down.” I weep. After a few more steadying breaths, he gently puts me down and releases his arms from around me. I’m heaving now, sobbing uncontrollably. I stumble to a nearby chair and steady myself against it. I can’t stop crying. He opened the gates and everything I felt came flooding back to me, just like it had just happened—the love, the hurt, the betrayal, all of it. I felt him touch my shoulder and it was like lightning! I jerk away from him quickly.

“Please! Please leave!” I wail as I take off as fast as my feet can carry me to my bedroom. I dash in and close the door, unable to catch my breath from sobbing. A few moments later, I can hear him leave and close the door behind him. I fall on my bed, wrap myself in my duvet, and cry the cries of the broken hearted… again.


A/N: Pictures can be found on Pinterest at http://www.pinterest.com/ladeeceo/paging-dr-steele/

You can join my mailing list on the “Contact Me” page. Just click the link and it will lead you to a form to join the list.

Love and handcuffs,
Lynn x

 

 

Leave a Reply

